These forums are archived

See this post for further info

get_iplayer forums

Forum archived. Posting disabled.

Problems installing get_iplayer-3.0

user-815

Apologies in advance. I'm not ashamed to admit I'm a novice and don't understand all the technical terms relating to installation so please be gentle!

I am trying to install get_iplayer-3.0

I am using Mac OS X El Capitan Version 10.11.6

Until the difficulties of 26/04/17 I have been happily using get_iplayer v2.91 as far as I am aware.

v2.91 must still be installed on my Mac and I don't know how to or even if I should now uninstall it.

I have read the v3.0 release notes and downloaded a zip file from the link provided.

I have also just installed Homebrew as all the previously posted guidance notes seemed to point to this being recommended.

In Terminal, I then keyed the following: -

brew install dinkypumpkin/get_iplayer/get_iplayer

and I received the following message:-

Warning: dinkypumpkin/get_iplayer/get_iplayer-3.00.0 already installed, it's just not linked.

What do I need to do next, please?

user-2

You don't say how you installed get_iplayer 2.91. I can only surmise that you attempted a Homebrew installation on top of a manually installed 2.91. I can't really help you unpick it because only you know what you actually did. I suggest you completely uninstall Homebrew and any applications installed with it (assuming you only installed Homebrew for get_iplayer). See http://docs.brew.sh/FAQ.html for information on completely uninstalling Homebrew. With that done, perform a fresh manual installation of get_iplayer.

user-815

You are correct!

I've been using get i_player (v2.91) until 26.04.17.

I then stopped using it as advised by the banner message on this site and waited for what emerged as v3.00.

On release of v3.00 I followed the release notes which led me (I believed correctly) to install Homebrew and subsequently I tried to install get i_player v3.00.