These forums are archived

See this post for further info

get_iplayer forums

Forum archived. Posting disabled.

Web PVR: "Unable to create server socket: Permission denied" error on startup

user-1882

Hello there,

I'm running Windows 10 Pro and I keep it up to date.

I'm running the latest version of get_iplayer 3.01.0.

I've been using get_iplayer for a long time without any problems at all but today the Web PVR Manager wouldn't open in any browser. I get...

"This site cannot be reached. localhost refused to connect"

and...

"ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED"

I've checked for a problem with my internet connection but there isn't one.

I tried reinstalling get_iplayer but this hasn't solved the problem.

Looking at the get_iplayer cli I get the following...

Unable to create server socket: Permission denied at C:\Program Files (x86)\get_iplayer\get_iplayer.cgi line 272

I'm a novice with cgi scripts so can't work out why this has suddenly started to happen.

I'm not using a VPN and I'm in the UK.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

user-2

A possible culprit is a third-party antivirus/firewall. You may need to explicitly exempt the Perl interpreter (C:\Program Files (x86)\get_iplayer\perl\perl.exe) from whatever restrictions prevent it from opening a network socket. You would have to figure out how to do that for your particular antivirus/firewall.

user-1882

Hi there,

Thanks for your quick reply.

I use Bitdefender and have just checked the firewall rules.

Sadly, perl.exe already has a rule - bi-directional - any network - allow.

I've attached a .jpg of the browser page, the PVR cli output and the firewall rules.

It's quite bizarre as I was having no issues until yesterday.

Am wondering if it's a Windows 10 update that's to blame?

Thanks,

S.

user-2