These forums are archived

See this post for further info

get_iplayer forums

Forum archived. Posting disabled.

Unable to install latest 2.90 in Windows 8

user-720

Hello all

I stumbled across this forum from http://www.mail-archive.com/[email protected], so thought I should cross-post my problem here.

I've been using get_iplayer for a few years, and was running version 2.85 up until this afternoon, not having updated since earlier this year as was out of the country. I was using the command line with --pid=, so it still worked though I noticed the BBC feed changes etc.

However, this afternoon every download was unable to start. I figured it was a good time to upgrade, and tried to download the latest version from
[url=http://www.infradead.org/get_iplayer_win/get_iplayer_setup_latest.exe][/url]
For some reason this download kept failing (possibly my browser problem?), but I eventually managed to get it. The file seems to be 6.47MB?

However, on trying to install it several error messages appear:

Two error messages ending Tamil/Tankra?

Then:
Extract: 34.pl
Extract: 35.pl
Extract: 36.pl
Error opening file for writing:
C:\Program Files (x86)\get_iplayer\lib\unicore\lib\Nv\3_16.pl
Click Abort to stop installation
Retry, Ignore etc

Can't write: C:\Program Files (x86)\get_iplayer\lib\unicore\lib\Nv\3_16.pl

After which the installation is unable to continue. Re-trying the installation results in:

Error! Can't initialize plug-ins directory. Please try again later.

Restarting the computer and trying again results in the same \unicore\lib\Nv\3_16.pl error as before.

I've read the latest release notes, FAQs etc and haven't found anything specifically about this problem. Would greatly appreciate any help on this; I'm not much of a tech expert so rely on those with the know-how. I suppose (but hope not) that it could also be a problem with my computer (2yrs-old Windows 8, win64, 1.9GHz quad-core, 6GB RAM).

Cheers!
Alex

user-2